Secretariat for Evangelization and Catechesis

 

 

NOTICE OF CANCELLATION

The Secretariat for Evangelization and Catechesis has canceled all class, events, and meeting scheduled for

Today, November 15, 2018, due to the impending inclement weather.

Please see the following cancellations;

Holy Spirit Institute Cohort 2 English Queens Track at Immaculate Conception Center, Douglaston

Spirituality for Teachers and Catechist English at Holy Child Jesus Catholic Academy

AVISO DE CANCELACIÓN

La Secretaría de Evangelización y Catequesis ha cancelado todas las clases, eventos y reuniones programadas para

Hoy, jueves 15 de noviembre de 2018, debido al mal tiempo que se avecina.

Por favor vea las siguientes cancelaciones;

Instituto de Espíritu Santo Cohorte 2 Español Queens en Nuestra Señor de Lourdes

Instituto de Espíritu Santo Cohorte 2 Español Brooklyn  en las oficinas diocesanas

Evangelization is more effective when it is carried out with oneness of spirit and with sincere teamwork among the various ecclesial communities as well as among missionaries and local clergy: this requires courage to seek out ways of working together and offering mutual help in the areas of catechesis and Catholic education, as well as integral human development and charity.

~Pope Francis, September 21, 2014, Vespers

The mission of the Secretariat for Evangelization and Catechesis is to assist parishes, families and Catholic academies/parish schools provide formational and educational opportunities that lead people to missionary discipleship.

Established on June 23, 2017, by the Most Reverend Nicholas DiMarzio. Ph.D., D.D., the Secretariat for Evangelization and catechesis has four departments:

  • Adult Faith Formation
    Living and Leading by Faith Catechist and Catechetical Leader Formation Program (LLF)
    Holy Spirit Institute for Service and Leadership (HSI)
    Rite of Christian Initiation for Adults (RCIA)
    Small Faith Sharing Groups
    ARISE: Together in Christ
    Living the Eucharist
    Other adult faith formation programs
  • Youth and Young Adult Faith Formation
    Catholic Youth Ministry Initiative (CYMI)
    Catholic Youth Organization (CYO)
  • Children’s Faith Formation
    Special Needs Religious Education
  • Marriage, Family, and Respect Life Education
    Pre-Cana
    FOCCUS (Facilitating Open Couple Communication, Understanding, and Study)
    Marriage Enrichment
    Respect Life Committees

Our Guidebook for 2017-2018 contains current information regarding our initiatives, department offerings, Living and Leading by Faith Catechist and Catechetical Leader Faith Formation Program courses, calendar, and resources.

We also offer online learning and leadership formation via local courses and educational events – click here to register. We also work with a number of formation partners.

Search the site directory to the left for information regarding each department of the Secretariat for Evangelization and Catechesis.

~ Theodore J. Musco
Secretary

CONTACTS

Theodore Musco
Secretary for Evangelization and Catechesis
tmusco@diobrook.org

Dawn Twomey
Administrative Assistant to the Secretary
dtwomey@diobrook.org

Nelsa Elías
Facilitator, Catechetical Program Outreach
nelias@diobrook.org

Christine Georgi
Registrar
cgeorgi@diobrook.org

Reverend Joseph Gibino
Coordinator, School of Evangelization
jgibino@diobrook.org

Krzysztof Gospodarzec
Liaison with the Polish Community

Martha Hernandez
Administrative Assistant
mhernandez@diobrook.org

Reverend James Kuroly
Chaplain for Youth and Young Adult Formation
jkroly@diobrook.org

Lucia Morales
Specialist, Catholic Youth Ministry Initiative
lmorales@diobrook.org

Paul Morisi
Director, Youth, and Young Adult Faith Formation
pmorisi@diobrook.org

Maria Plasencia
Administrative Assistant
mplasencia@diobrook.org

Christian Rada
Director, Marriage, Family Formation and Respect Life Education
crada@diobrook.org

Joann Roa
Director, Adult Faith Formation
jroa@diobrook.org

Catholic Youth Organization Staff

Robert Caldera
CYO Director
rcaldera@diobrook.org

Annmarie Creighton
CYO Administrative Assistant
acreighton@diobrook.org

Keith Goldberg
CYO Sports Coordinator
kgoldberg@diobrook.org

George Simone
Technology/Sports Coordinator
gsimone@diobrook.org